Following the Flock

One lovely June day last summer, I went for a ramble. What Can I say? I lost my way. I found myself in the most romantic of settings— A lovely little B&B in Locharbriggs, Scotland. To be honest, I did have an agenda. 

I went to commune with nature and fell into the company of some very friendly Valais Blacknose Sheep at Whitehall Farm in Dumfries and Galloway.  They were adorable and I felt like I was going to pull a Wylie Coyote and pick one up and run off with it!!! Not that I could have done! They were bigger than I imagined them to be and had minds of their own! One of them took to leaning on me and most of them nibbled my sundress. It was the funniest thing I have ever experienced. I truly did feel like Little Miss BoPeep!

wp-1465825877533.jpeg
Nibbling on Bo Peep…

Aside from the obvious which was going to Whitehall Farm near Duncow and becoming pals with the dreamiest little sheep, there was a fair bit of longing for simpler joys. There was also a fair bit of port, snowballs (basically sponge cake sandwich with jam covered in coconut… a MUST when up in Scotland), good food and hot weather up in sunny Dumfries & Galloway.

The flock I met was of Valais Blacknose Sheep variety. I bought a bag of wool. I believe it’s about 200g. So now I need to learn to spin it. The sheep themselves were just the friendliest sheep I have ever known. It was as if they knew I was there just to see them. They did not disappoint. They came up to me, leant on me, nibbled and my dress and genuinely just made me happy just to be surrounded by them. The wool itself is not very soft, though. I am not sure what I will make from it when I finally wash and spin it. I may just make a little sheep toy. I do have a pattern I can use!

diego

wp-1465826227016.jpeg

Unfortunately, I did not go on the hunt for wool shops like I usually do on excursions like this. This is mainly due to me answering my more shocking desires of cake. Nevermind. Next time I will stick to business. Maybe…wp-1465825771026.jpegI got quite a bit of knitting done and finished the kitty cat hat I was working on. The fact that I finished it ON THE MOTORWAY was a bit shocking… The M6 was closed down for hours. There was not much for it. I was alone, the engine was off and I had no one to talk to. I related all this to the ladies at Yankee Yarns. They came up with an even better idea that would not involve the motorway!!!

Our Fearless Leader, Sara, organised a road trip to visit the sheep at Hooligan Yarns! This was over the May 1st Bank Holiday Monday. Resident Designer Jenny got up close and personal with the animals and is now coming up with interesting ideas inspired by the flock! Stay tuned! She will, most likely, be posting them soon!

sara sheep!!!

jenny goat

