The Heart Wants What The Heart Wants

The minute the calendar flips to February, everything goes red and the world goes into a get-loved-up mode or anti-love-crusade. It is amazing how February can be so stressful. To some in the bloom of new romance it can be just as fought as Christmas! After all, the conditioning that goes into this “holiday” started back when we were kids learning how to cut up red construction paper into the shape of hearts. I cut small red ones and glued them on to bigger pink ones then wrote “Happy Valentine’s Day” or “Will you be mine?” on them and then strung them together to make bunting out of them to decorate the classroom. Some of the more creative kids added polka dots or white lace to theirs. The memory of it still makes me smile. These were the days before we knew what it was like to have our own hearts ripped in two… or worse… chucked on the fires of the disillusioned. 

But time heals all wounds; Knitting also heals all wounds. So now I am able to revive my love of hearts. Romantic Realist that I am, it is nice to find that my delight in making little love hearts is still pretty prominent. The medium of material used for this art has changed, however. Instead of paper, I get to use wool! Also, where is it written that the love hearts must be relegated to red? Love comes in all colours.Yankee Yarns has an assortment of lovely yarn. But we are lucky to have a new selection of hand spun and dyed wool by a local yarn artist.

Woollyelly is local to Mansfield and has some beautiful skeins that will delight the most eclectic romantic.Of course, there is a rich red that will appeal to the traditionalists! 

So! What do you think? Ready to fall head over heels in love with some yarn? Well, if so, we also have a quick pattern you can use to knit up a sweet little heart for your Valentine! We call it the POWER PUFF HEART!  It can be stuffed to make a tiny pillow or filled with lavender to be tucked away in the lingerie drawer (rrrarrr!). Or you can knit one to be applied to blankets, headbands, hats or pockets. (Or you can affix one to the sleeve of a jumper like I have.)

For a spot of fun, get your knitting circle clicking and make lots of them in all colours, string them together and POOF! You got yourself a nostalgic version of the classroom style bunting from your school days!

Make sure you drop us a line with pictures of your heartfelt creations! We would LOVE to see them and show them off here on our blog. The best part of this pattern is that you can use your yarn stash.

img-20170130-wa0005.jpg

We are going to also give you another little project, in the spirit of Valentine’s Day. Our resident designer, Jenny has the sweetest little pattern on Ravelry that she has offered for free for our own joy. It’s the Chunky Bits & Bobs Bag. A friend of mine has asked me to knit one up for his sweetheart and he’s asked me to insert the quirky yet poignant poem by E.E. Cummings inside the bag along with the Power Puff Heart.

bag[i carry your heart with me(i carry it in]

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in

my heart)i am never without it(anywhere

i go you go,my dear;and whatever is done

by only me is your doing,my darling)

                                                      i fear

no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want

no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)

and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant

and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows

(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud

and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows

higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)

and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

17-01-27-16-27-13-890_deco.jpg

