Secrets Of The Yarniverse…

My Yarniverse– The Mysteries of the Knitter’s Stash

Originally POSTED ON SEPTEMBER 4, 2015

By A. E. Wallace

Riot swirling within and without— Glimpses of shining sparkles dotting Galaxy upon Galaxy— balls of wonder rolled up in anticipated creation. My Yarniverse exists by my hand and silently rests until inspiration beckons. This is my design.

All knitters have a stash. We come by them in various ways. I have some balls left over from projects. Others were bought in a sale and put away for that time I might need it for something. There are beautiful wound up balls of colour (and knitting tools) I have been lucky enough to inherit from retired knitters and those who have gone to that Great Knitting Circle in the sky. However, I do have in my possession skeins bought at full price and tucked away from judgement. Those are the decadent wools acquired in secret. They are my prized and often enigmatic collections that are filled with as much infamy as surreptitious sessions of absinthe or blurry dreams of opium dens. These are my luxury wools that might as well raise eyebrows as if I were hiding away occasions of debauchery.

I was speaking to a fellow knitter one day as we cooed over a basket of 50g  skeins of Manos Silk Blend 6460 Scorpio. She reminded me of some wayward alchemist as she hypothesised how she might use the luxury yarn. She did not have a pattern and wondered how many she should buy (just in case). We visualised what this soft skein would look good as on herself, myself, daughters.. She whipped out her smart phone and googled patterns. We flicked through shawls, handbags, scarves and wrist-warmers until she decided she would buy five so she could make a shrug (at some point) and have enough (just in case) for something else. The whole exercise lasted 30 minutes before she scooped up SIX skeins.  She then toddled off to buy the aran she meant to buy in the first place for the cable jumper she was knitting for her husband. Her little whispered words before she left me to my musing was “He’ll never know.”

No. No one can ever know the wonders of The Yarniverse.

Inherited from Auntie Jessie Wallace in Dumfries, Scotland. From her stash. The arran wool is at least 50 years old! She gave it to me with a sigh,
Inherited from Auntie Jessie Wallace in Dumfries, Scotland. From her stash. The arran wool is at least 50 years old! She gave it to me with a sigh, “I doubt I’ll get to using these now.”
Sequins, like stars, tucked within the chaotic galaxy... I have one in red, too. What will I use it for? I have no clue...
Sequins, like stars, tucked within the chaotic galaxy… I have one in red, too. What will I use it for? I have no clue…
My Yarniverse
My Yarniverse
My Knitting Knook... away from He That Might Judge Me.
My Knitting Knook… away from He That Might Judge Me.

2014-12-05-13-48-12_deco

