Raspberry Beret

 

prince

For days now, the death of Prince Rogers Nelson has dominated the headlines, airwaves and thoughts of the world. Not only was he a multi-platinum selling musician, he was a truly original and boundless artist. His productions were both a treat for the ear as well as the eye and fans were ever inspired by anything Prince created.

We became incredibly nostalgic on Friday night. Out came the 1985 vinyl, Around the World in a Day and we listened to the hit, Raspberry Beret. Naturally, the next thing that happened was a search for a pattern on the internet. I went straight to Ravelry and found one using the Bee Stitch.

The Bee Stitch is a multiple of 2 stitches plus 1 over 4 rows. It is made by “knitting 1 below (K1b)” and you need to have an odd number of stitches.

Row 1: Knit

Row 2: (Right Side): *(K1, K1b); Repeat from * across to last stitch K1.

Row 3: Knit

Row 4: *(K1b, K1); repeat from * across to last stitch, K1b.

Repeat these 4 rows for desired length of fabric. This 4 row repeat creates a diagonal patterning.

I have never tried the Bee Stitch before and I am looking forward to trying it out. I looked into my “stash” that I call My Yarniverse and found a lovely raspberry coloured wool but it is rather fluffy wool. To show off the stitch, I really need to find something different. I thought perhaps it could be cotton from Sugar n Cream. I did the silly thing of announcing this to The Husband who pointed out that I had three WIPs going, a yarn bomb coming up and “orders” for winter hats for the family etc…

Well, I never said that the Raspberry Beret would be for me, per se, an my daughter is a member of the family. She often forgets her hat at home since she uses the hoodie of her parka so I often use her hats… So I am off to the Yarn Store to check out raspberry coloured yarns.

 

Bee Stitch Beret Courtesy: http://www.lindysknitslaces.com/tag/bee-stitch/

